Boards & Commissions

The City Council has established various commissions, committees, and boards that oversee a variety of city issues. Auburn residents may print out an application for appointment to a commission, committee, or board or submit this form online. A listing of current appointments to City Committees and Commissions is available here. Contact the City Clerk for more information.

  1. Annexation Committee

    This is an Ad-Hoc Committee charged with examining the feasibility of annexing areas within the City of Auburn’s Sphere of Influence, including North Auburn.

  2. Arts Commission

    The goal of the Arts Commission is to foster and promote the visual and performing arts in Auburn.

  3. Economic Development Commission

    The goal of the Economic Development Commission (EDC) is to enhance the City of Auburn's business environment and economic base while preserving and enhancing the social, natural, and financial resources of our community.

  4. Endurance Capital Committee

    The Endurance Capital Committee works to publicize the Auburn-area’s spectacular outdoor resources; encourages our citizens of all ages and all fitness levels to participate safely in fitness activities; assists both new and established Auburn-area athletic events.

  5. Greater Auburn Area Fire Safe Council

    The Council is to promote fire safe practices within the community through outreach, education, and program development, and identify ways to protect the community from wildfire.

  6. Historic Design Review Commission

    The Historic Design Review Commission (HDRC) reviews requests for new development, exterior site and building additions and alterations, signs, and building materials and colors for properties within the Old Town Historic District and Downtown Historic District.

  7. Library Advisory Board

    The Library Advisory Board advises and makes recommendations to the Placer County Board of Supervisors concerning policies and procedures for the operation of the county free library system.

  8. Oversight Board

    The Oversight Committees shall have fiduciary responsibilities to holders of enforceable obligations and the taxing entities that benefit from distributions of property tax and other revenues.

  9. Planning Commission

    The Planning Commission has the authority to approve, conditionally approve, or deny design review permits, use permits, subdivision maps, parcel maps, variances, and associated environmental determinations.

  10. Streetscape History and Art Advisory Committee

    The Streetscape History and Art Advisory Committee was formed to decide the themes for the art, interpretive signage, and the names that will be engraved in tiles along a "walk of fame" throughout the city's streetscape project.

  11. Technology Commission

    The responsibility of the Technology Committee is to be aware of currently installed technology as well as the status and costs of commercially available and emerging technologies.

  12. Traffic Committee

    The Traffic Committee reviews traffic and parking issues throughout the city.